Panic at the Party; NYE Outfit Ideas

Many people have been asking me lately what’s my advice for a Christmas or a New Year’s Eve outfit. Truth be told, I have no idea what I’m wearing myself – basically because I never go out on Christmas, so it’s always hard to choose between the teddy bear or the Hello Kitty pyjamas and also because I never end up being satisfied with whatever I end up wearing on New Year’s Eve. I feel like I’m never extra enough 😦

But anyway, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit I came up with some festive outfit ideas for you.

To begin with, I’m a fan of anything other than dresses. I realised this pretty recently and I think it’s because a dress can be worn in very certain ways, even if you’re really creative. Therefore, even if I love dresses I usually go for separate pieces that I can work with in many ways.

Another thing I’d like to highlight is how I always go for comfort – I consider it to be the key to a successful outfit, even if I’m constantly on uncomfortable shoes just because they look cute (check out “Masochism“). I’m the kind of person who dances like a weird cat. All. Night. Long. *man, don’t judge, I’ve met some pretty awesome people dancing* So, despite my love for heels and the fact that I’m actually used to them, I wouldn’t advice just anyone to go for a pair of stilettos, as that very night is usually a preeetty long one. Personally, I love block heeled shoes, so that’s an idea!

Also, you can always try to not spend too much on new purchases, going shopping isn’t always the key. Find what inspires the partying side of you and reinvent it with a new little something.

Anyway, let’s see what I’ve come up with for ya;

  • Luxurious Touch

It’s easy to create a feminine and impressive outfit by throwing on anything velvet or satin. As you’ve probably noticed, these two guys are a huge trend and perfect for a fancy night out, especially when it comes to this night out. You can rely on a velvet top or a satiny pleated skirt – especially when paired, these two textures make a lovely duo. Another good friend of yours could be lace or tulle/anything sheer, which looks just as divine.

blue-black-in-black-on-brown-new-york-1981-jean-paul-goude-copy

  • The Mighty Jungle or How to Chanel Kate Moss

I’m a full time lover of the animal prints, especially leopard. I’ve been wearing my vintage leopard coat on top of pretty much anything and it always ends up bringing out a truly bossy spark off of my outfit. You can pick an outerwear, a top or, if you’re daring enough, a skirt in animal printing and you definitely won’t go unnoticed.

blue-black-in-black-on-brown-new-york-1981-jean-paul-goude-copy-copy-2

  • Shine bright, you little disco ball

When everything else fails, you can always turn yourself into the Star of Bethlehem. Choose something glittering, sequined or metallic and you’re good to go. Just make sure it’s something you’ll get to wear again at some point, if not often; I wouldn’t, for instance, invest in a full sequined dress but a skirt or maybe a top of the kind is a much wiser choice.

blue-black-in-black-on-brown-new-york-1981-jean-paul-goude-copy-copy-2

  • Punk Edit

I think out of all the suggestions, I love this the most. London punk is back and smashing and can easily be styled with animal printed or shiny pieces like above. Vinyl is the king of these looks but if you consider it just too much for you, leather is the lighter alternative. You can even rock a pair of the much loved fishnet tights. Smart outfit suggestion; most of us own a tartan shirt – top it with some fancy jewelry, pair it with some leather bottoms, your favorite fancy footwear and you’re good to party!

blue-black-in-black-on-brown-new-york-1981-jean-paul-goude-copy-copy

Hope I inspired you somehow – still don’t know what I’m going for, as for my NYE outfit. Here’s to a great partying night and a better year, because let’s be honest 2016 wasn’t really it.

*CHAMPAGNE FOR EVERYONE*

thank you for reading & make sure you use #tresviolette when sharing,

xoxo Violet

Κράτα το

Κράτα το

Leave a Reply

